Uncategorized

Week 4- Decolonization

I agree with the many views this essay has to offer. Personally, I love the outdoors and this is all about First Nation learning. I believe the best way to learn is by doing. In high school, I would ‘go to the washroom’ in the middle of class. I would actually just go and walk around outside for 5 minutes and come back inside. The outdoors does something for the mind that is just calming. The perfect learning environment for me would be less like ‘normal classrooms’ today. It would possibly have some vegetation in it, many comfy places to sit. Large windows that you can open. 

 

I see decolonization happening everywhere within the school system. I personally like the way of learning the First Nations people have and this movement is great for society. New schools that are being put up, are not like the rest. I am unsure of some of the school’s names but they have begun to have circular classrooms. Fewer corners and more art in the building. If you look at the new schools in Regina, the outside is appealing and is not boring black or white. It has some bright colors and wood. The teachers are now beginning to learn that sitting in lines and listening is not the best way to learn. I see students now being able to work outside the classroom and in certain learning areas. I would definitely let my students work how they want to work and where they want to work. If they learn what is offered, it does not matter to me where they learn it. The point of school is to become knowledgable and to have fun, so I will let my students enjoy their adolescence. 

1 thought on “Week 4- Decolonization”

  1. I find it interesting that when you were in school you would find excuses to go outside. I also think the outdoors is a much better learning environment and students could really benefit from being outside more and not always stuck sitting all day inside.

    Like

Leave a comment